Medical Education Campuses


Hamilton Campus

The School of Medicine, established in 1965 and renamed the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine in 2004, offers major programs in undergraduate, postgraduate and graduate medical education. The clinical programs use not only the teaching hospitals and ambulatory care and research facilities at the McMaster University Medical Centre division of Hamilton Health Sciences, but also the clinical teaching units at several of the major Hamilton hospitals and community health-care centres. The program is designed to involve medical students with a broad range of human health problems and with early exposure to patients.
Learn More

Waterloo Regional Campus

Waterloo Regional Campus is McMaster’s first fully distributed site for medical education. Since opening our doors in 2007, the initial dreams that fostered an environment welcoming of community medical education, the vision of a unique partnership between McMaster University and the University of Waterloo and the commitment to address health human resource shortages has yielded an amazing opportunity for aspiring physicians to become our students. The communities of Waterloo-Wellington have demonstrated their leadership in enabling the educational mission. The success and sustainability of this initiative is clearly due to the commitment of local physicians and allied health professionals who willingly share their expertise and wisdom with our students.
Learn More

Niagara Regional Campus

McMaster University’s Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine opened its Niagara Regional Campus in 2008 with several aims: to address the shortage of physicians, to enhance patient care, to improve research and education capacity, and to foster collegian relationships across communities through collaborations with Niagara healthcare leaders. Our commitment to these goals through the years has created a rewarding learning atmosphere for our medical students and enriched the healthcare community in the Niagara region.
Learn More

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at